simple things.

This is how I feel about banana bread.

Here’s the thing, you guys – breakfast is hard. I am really good at dinner, I am really good at dessert, but I am not great at breakfast. (Let us not speak of lunch. Improving lunch is a personal project for me on par with the sorts of things people spend years on in therapy.) If I have time to cook I can do very nice things, but on a workday my goal can best be expressed as “get something into my face that I don’t have to pay someone else for.” This is where banana bread comes in. (And if you really want to kick up your breakfast game, smear a bunch of almond butter on your banana bread and microwave it for twenty seconds. Oh. My. God. Permathanks to my fancy friend for setting me on this track.) It’s incredibly easy to make, super delicious, and it keeps. Days after I make it, it is still moist and tasty. We also have leftover bananas kind of a lot because we are both princesses who only really like bananas when they are still a little bit green, and guys, did you know – when bananas get past the point where you want to eat them, you just throw them in the freezer? And then BOOM. Bananas for banana bread whenever you want them. Here’s how I make it, based off a recipe I googled in college and have never felt the need to supplant. (Except for the one time I did, with a How to Cook Everything recipe, which I will get to in the next post.)

Banana Bread
Adapted from Banana Banana Bread at allrecipes.com

2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 stick butter
3/4 cup brown sugar
2 eggs
3 bananas, frozen or mashed
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Mix your dry, set aside. Cream the butter and sugar, then add your eggs, bananas and vanilla. Awesome banana trick: if you freeze bananas, then defrost them, you can cut off the tip and squeeze the banana goo out of the skin like toothpaste out of a tube! Yes, this sounds gross, but it’s not at all. Just do what I tell you to do. Anyway, add your banana goo, add your eggs, mix dry into wet, and bake for an hour at 350. You will be very pleased with what you have done.

About Sara

I like to talk about media, food, and gender.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

