things I’m eating these days: pancake edition.

As I said previously, Joy the Baker may be annoying, but she’s good for breakfast items. One of the reasons she gets on my nerves is her insistence on throwing the kitchen sink into many of her recipes; I like my sink where it is. So, here is how I adapted her Blueberry Orange and Almond Pancake with Orange Maple Glaze to be less batshit and more like a thing I am willing to make on a Sunday morning. The result was, I am pleased to say, fuckin’ delicious.

Berry Orange Pancakes
Adapted from Joy the Baker Cookbook

1 cup all-purpose flour
1 scant tablespoon sugar
1 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. salt
1 large egg
3/4 cup buttermilk
1/4 cup orange juice
1/4 tsp. vanilla extract
3/4 cup berries

Mix your dry. Mix your wet. Mix your wet into your dry. Make your pancakes. If you used to read me back when I blogged regularly, you know that being able to make pancakes without ruining everything in the world is a major triumph for me (just search “pancakes” within this blog for a handful of stories of me going LKDJFLDF;JGDFAJHSDLK;A PANCAKES), so when I say “make your pancakes” like it ain’t no thang, rest assured that it is very much a thing and pancakes are very hard. But these are very tasty and you should make them.

About Sara

I like to talk about media, food, and gender.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

