let’s make exciting broccoli together.

Okay, I lied. Very occasionally, I have time to experiment with a simple recipe.

My go-to vegetable style is “steamed.” It’s how my parents do it, it’s delicious, and it is the least labor-intensive method ever. What it’s not is particularly exciting. So I recently busted into my recipe bookmarks and found this broccoli preparation as presented by Adam Roberts, the Amateur Gourmet. He calls it the best broccoli of your life. He is not wrong. My boyfriend lost his shit for this broccoli. I’ve adapted the recipe slightly from Adam’s suggestion, so I give you my spin on The Best Broccoli of Your Life. You’ll need:

1 – 2 heads of broccoli
4 garlic cloves
1 lemon
Grated parmesan or pecorino romano
Kosher salt
Coarse-ground black pepper
Olive oil

Preheat the oven to 425. (I’m pretty sure I did this at 350 because I was also roasting sausage, and it was fine.) Line a baking sheet with tin foil, enough so it wraps around both ends. Do not skip this step as it will make things much easier down the line. I did it largely because Adam did it and also my baking sheets are pretty rusty and fucked up and should generally be kept away from things you’re going to put in your mouth, but it became essential towards the end. Anyway, do that.

Remove all your broccoli florets from the stem and toss with sufficient amounts of olive oil, coarse-ground black pepper, and kosher salt, and four chopped cloves of garlic. Put this mix in the oven and roast for about 20 minutes, until the broccoli is “crisp-tender and the tips of some of the florets are browned.” (I’m quoting Adam quoting Ina Garten, from whom this was originally adapted.)

When the broccoli is beginning to brown, remove it from the oven but keep the oven on. Over the broccoli, squeeze the juice of one whole lemon and grate a generous amount of parmesan or pecorino romano. (I inexplicably had pre-grated parmesan in the fridge, so I used that. There is no earthly reason for you to have, or do, the same.) Throw the whole mess back in the oven for 2 – 3 more minutes, just to get the cheese a little melty. Now. Here’s where your tin foil comes in. Take out the pan and wrap up the broccoli in the foil, so you’ve got a package of broccoli + fixins’, and just sort of shake it. Or massage it. Whatever. Get all that goodness good and mixed up, then open the package and pour the contents into a serving bowl.

This is a seriously delicious and exciting way to consume broccoli, and I advise you to do so immediately.

About Sara

I like to talk about media, food, and gender.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to let’s make exciting broccoli together.

  1. Aleks says:

    Oh Sara, you’re so wise and good looking. I’ve been meaning to replace 30% of my non-broccoli diet with broccoli and this will help a lot.

  2. Aleks says:

    The ingredients, I just bought them.

  3. Aleks says:

    After months of experimentation, my favorite version of this recipe adds a can of black beans (wash them to remove sodium), skip the salt, throw in a chopped up onion, and use crumbled feta cheese.

Leave a Reply

