on pound cake.

The nice thing about the word “fondue” is that you can verb it to high heaven. So last night, when my dearest RLJ and I were meeting up in the company of our men friends, we fondid (see how it works?) dessert, and I was instructed to make pound cake. For dipping-in-chocolate purposes. Due mostly to not wanting to plug the printer in, I turned to my Joy the Baker cookbook and found a lovely pound cake recipe. It’s basically this guy with the orange and the chocolate removed, but because I love you, I’m going to write out the recipe from the book with my substitution, even if doing so makes me feel dirty. (The whole internet does it, but I’ll be damned if it doesn’t feel like plagiarism.) Also, I did a pretty major substitution. Cream cheese is not an ingredient I keep around, but plain yogurt is, and being pressed for time as I was last night, I did a one-to-one swap instead of going to the store. I would definitely continue this substitution in the future. Yogurt makes me feel happy inside, and cream cheese does not. In my heart, that is, not my stomach. I don’t think my stomach can tell the difference.

This makes a very moist cake that is easy to overbake because of how the stick in the middle comes out (clean but a little gooey). Don’t be fooled. Take it out after an hour and let it finish in the pan. You’ll be glad you did.

Yogurt Pound Cake
Barely adapted from Joy the Baker Cookbook

2 cups all-purpose flour
1.5 tsps baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup plain Greek yogurt (why would you ever use less than full-fat? why?)
1.5 sticks unsalted butter, softened
1.5 cups granulated sugar
2 tsps vanilla extract

Preheat the oven to 325. Grease a loaf pan. Mix the dry in one bowl. Beat the yogurt a little, cream the butter and sugar into it, add all the wet and mixed until it’s well-mixed, then add the dry. Bake for an hour at 325. Then do stuff with it!

About Sara

I like to talk about media, food, and gender.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to on pound cake.

  1. Pingback: things I’m eating these days: muffin edition. | Ends and Leavings

Leave a Reply

