quickie desserts: chocolate pudding.

As I’ve said before, from-scratch desserts weren’t a big part of my childhood. The processed dinner foods we ate were few and far between, but when it came to dessert, all bets were off. Unless it was Christmas season, cookies were Pepperidge Farm, cakes were Entenmann’s, and if you wanted pudding it was damn sure coming out of a box. My-T-Fine was our preferred brand for tastiness, but we all appreciated the no-cook simplicity of Jell-O Instant – not least of all because you didn’t have to wait for it to cool.

But in the years since I’ve embraced cooking, I’ve made a variety of puddings from scratch to a variety of receptions. Deb’s caramel pudding is exceptional, provided you let the caramel get dark enough (otherwise it just tastes like sugar pudding, which is exactly as disgusting as it sounds (and if you don’t think that sounds disgusting, this blog is probably Not For You)). I once made a vanilla pudding that used flour as a thickener, and I’d share the recipe as a warning because gross, but I’ve long since deleted it. And the other day, a sudden, overwhelming and undeniable need for chocolate pudding drove me to the stove to produce a pudding so tasty that my dad consumed almost all of it for a late-night snack, then put the empty bowl back in the fridge in what I can only imagine was the hope that no one would notice. I chose Elise’s recipe over Deb’s pretty much entirely because Deb’s called for a double boiler and Elise’s didn’t. Elise’s recipe feels a little weird to me, calling for the incorporation of an egg and all your solid chocolate after the pudding is off the heat, but whatever man, it’s dead easy, comes together in about five minutes, and is fucking delicious.

Notes & Verdicts

Chocolate Pudding by Simply Recipes

Notes: This absolutely, no-question needs a teaspoon of vanilla extract. Add it when you’re incorporating the solid chocolate. It also, unsurprisingly, gets better when you use a better grade of chocolate. The first batch I made used Baker’s chocolate, because it was what I had on hand, but the second batch used Ghirardelli, and it was nicer. Not like insanely over-the-top-nicer, but nicer.

Also, just a tip – have your chocolate chopped and your egg beaten before you start cooking the milk mixture. It’ll save you stress.

Verdict: This is an excellent pudding recipe. No complaints. A

About Sara

I like to talk about media, food, and gender.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

