yesterday’s best internets vol. 2

Wondermark takes on the job creators. If Wondermark isn’t in your RSS reader, please correct that post-haste. It is consistently hilarious. David Malki’s occasional long-form posts aren’t to be missed either.

One teacher’s approach to preventing gender bullying in a classroom The teacher in this story is a hero: “I have just begun to empathize with the challenges that gender-variant children deal with. For some it may seem inappropriate to address these issues in the classroom. My job is not to answer the questions “Why?” or “How?” Allie is the way she is (although asking those questions and doing some research in order to better understand was definitely part of my process). My job is not to judge, but to teach, and I can’t teach if the students in my class are distracted or uncomfortable. My job is also about preparing students to be a part of our society, ready to work and play with all kinds of people. I found that teaching about gender stereotypes is another social justice issue that needs to be addressed, like racism or immigrant rights, or protecting the environment.”

Enjoy!

About Sara

I like to talk about media, food, and gender.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

