corn casserole

I feel awful. I have let you go four months without sharing with you my corn casserole recipe. I’m a terrible blogger and a worse friend, because this shit is delicious.

Up front, I want to be clear: I did not come up with this mouth delight. The recipe was given to me by my beloved high school friend Ryan and his fiancee Audrey. Ryan and Audrey are the shiznit both at life and at cooking, and every night of my intrusion into their home in 2009, they cooked me full-out gourmet meals. The first night I was there they made bibimbap with all the fixings! When’s the last time someone made you bibimbap with all the fixings, huh? Ryan is also the person who got me interested in food blogs, via Carol Blymire’s brilliant Alinea at Home and French Laundry at Home. Ry and Audrey are getting married in September, and I couldn’t be more excited, not least of all because two palates as discerning/food-cited (it’s like food, plus excited! food-cited! … no?) as theirs are sure to have selected one delicious caterer for the reception.

But enough about how much I love my friends. This is about corn casserole. Here’s how you make it.

1 can whole kernel corn
1 can creamed corn
1 8 oz. tub sour cream
1 stick salted butter
1 egg
1 package Jiffy corn bread mix

See how easy that is? Six ingredients, one of everything. You can even, as Ryan learned when he made this for me, omit the egg and still be fine. That just means it’ll be a gooey pudding as opposed to a bread. I’m pretty sure I had three helpings when I first had this, so trust me, it does not suffer in the flavour department from that omission.

Anyway, preheat the oven to 350. Throw all the ingredients together in a bowl and mix until combined. I melt the butter because it’s easier to mix that way. (I honestly can’t imagine how else you’d do the butter for this – cream it with the egg? Mix it into the Jiffy mix with a pastry cutter? I need to get a pastry cutter.) Pour your well-combined ingredients into a baking dish you sprayed with Pam and bake until done (usually takes about an hour.)

That’s it. There could not be a simpler or more stress-free dish. I like to serve it with these fucking outstanding orange-garlic shrimp by Pastor Ryan for Pioneer Woman, but it’s nice with any spicy-sweet sauce. It is also fantastic with ribs.

About Sara

I like to talk about media, food, and gender.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to corn casserole

  1. Pingback: what I’m cooking these days. | Ends and Leavings

  2. Pingback: shrimp: the other other pink meat. | Ends and Leavings

Leave a Reply

