yesterday’s best internets, vol 6.

I LOVE YOU.

HOW MUCH?

….

AS MUCH AS AMERICA LOVES WHITEWASHING ITS HISTORY OF IMPERIALISM AND CONSTANTLY DENYING OR DOWNPLAYING THE INSTALLATION AND MILITARIZATION OF FOREIGN REGIMES SYMPATHETIC TO ITS FINANCIAL INTERESTS.

Guys, if you’d all just start reading this blog I wouldn’t have to post all the good entries on facebook. Really it would be for your benefit.

My Life Philosophy by Adam Roberts
In which Adam explains how the mode of thinking he learned at NYU’s School of Dramatic Writing has changed his life.

…the key factor–the thing that makes those movies so compelling–is how badly Indiana Jones wants the thing that he wants. As Neil Simon puts it: “Until my main character wants something and wants it badly, nothing happens in my plays.”

Apply that, then, to life. Until a person wants something and wants something badly, nothing happens.
That’s become my life philosophy. It took a while for that to sink in, that this thing I’d been studying applies equally well to life. But when I think about the people that I know who are the most fulfilled, they’re always the people who wanted something badly. The unhappiest people that I know are the ones who either don’t know what they want or simply don’t want anything.

And when you think of life in dramatic writing terms, you can start to ask yourself important questions: what is it that I want? How badly do I want it? What am I willing to risk to go after it? What’s at stake? What will I lose if I fail?

Sweet Siku: Orphaned polar bear cub shows off antics on TODAY
Baby polar bear. Little belly. So cute.

In the Wake of Protest: One Woman’s Attempt to Unionize Amazon by Vanessa Veselka
Do unions still matter? Well, big companies continue to spend ass tons of money to keep them out, so clearly they have some pretty strong feelings on the matter.

About Sara

I like to talk about media, food, and gender.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to yesterday’s best internets, vol 6.

  1. Jane says:

    omg, you have made me aware of “animals talking in all caps” and now my productivity is shot. i hope you are happy with yourself. (also, i love your link round ups.)

  2. Jane says:

    I hang out at TNC’s place sometimes under the name j_luck, but probably not.

Leave a Reply

